Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Haverford College History & Traditions

Haverford College AwardsIndividual AwardsScholarship RecipientsLearfield Sports Director’s CupHood Trophy | Athletics Logo Information

Haverford College Awards

Archibald MacIntosh Award - The Archibald MacIntosh Award is presented to the Haverford College sophomore who during their first year on campus emerged as the top scholar-athlete in the class.

Sponsored by the Societies of Haverford College, the award honors "Archie Mac," class of 1921, who served the College as coach, Director of Athletics, Professor of Psychology, Director of Admission, Vice-President and twice Acting President during his long tenure at Haverford. 

List of winners

William W. Ambler '45 Award - The award recipient will be the graduating senior varsity athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average through seven semesters of college work on the list of nominees. Students will be nominated by coaches according to the following minimum criteria: four years participation in at least one sport, three years lettering in one sport, starting line-up status for some period of college athletic career, full involvement in and commitment to the team, on and off the field.

List of winners

Varsity Cup - Haverford's highest athletic award, presented annually to the outstanding athlete in the senior class. The criteria used in selecting the Varsity Cup winner(s) are "athletic accomplishments, sportsmanship and leadership throughout their career."

List of winners

A.W. Haddleton Award - For perseverance, dedication and loyalty, named in honor of A.W. "Pop" Haddleton, long-time track coach at Haverford. This award may or may not be given in a specific year or it may be given to more than one senior. It recognizes an outstanding contribution to an athletic team by a person who epitomizes the qualities mentioned above and who has not received the recognition that, for example, a regular starting player does.

List of winners

Stephen G. Cary '37 Award - Formerly given for the most "outstanding dedication and achievement in women's athletics" at Haverford during the year just concluded, the Cary Award is now given to the senior(s) who have made the greatest overall impact on the Haverford athletic program during their college careers, through some combination of athletic participation and achievement, leadership, sportsmanship, off-field athletic dept. involvements, work within the department or other athletically-related contributions.

List of winners

Gregory Kannerstein '63 Award - For the individual(s) whose combination of outstanding athletic achievement and leadership has been a significant factor in a team's competitive success and whose level of performance has brought distinction not only to the individual but also the entire athletic program. Formerly the Alumni-Varsity Club Award.

List of winners

Individual Awards

CoSIDA Academic All-Americans


Centennial Conference Performer of the Year

Centennial Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Centennial Conference Rookie of the Year

Centennial Conference Silver Anniversary Team

Middle Atlantic Conference All-Century Teams

Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Team

Scholarship Recipients

NCAA Postgraduate Scholars

Rhodes Scholars

Watson Fellowships

Fulbright Scholarship Winners

Mitchell Scholarship

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace Fellowship

Luce Scholarship

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship 

Keasbey Scholarship

Beckman Scholars Award

Learfield Sports Director's Cup

Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Final Standings

Hood Trophy 

The Hood Trophy is a friendly competition between local rivals Haverford College and Swarthmore College. The Fords and Garnet have battled for the trophy with head to head contests in varsity sports since the 1941-42 academic year.

"The trophy contest was first staged in memory of Albert L. Hood, Jr., (Swarthmore '31) by his friends at both colleges in recognition of his efforts to improve the spirit of athletic competition between the two (institutions)," wrote then-Haverford Sports Information Director Robert Katz in a 1983 press release. He added that, "primarily because of a family relationship (his older sister, a Swarthmore student, married Merle Miller '26, a Haverford football captain), Hood had close ties with the Haverford community. When the athletic rivalry was discontinued after the 1925 season, Hood, who served on the Phoenix, the Swarthmore student paper, promoted the revival of the important relationship."

Originally the two schools, coed Swarthmore and men-only Haverford, competed in the mutually-sponsored sports of football, soccer, cross country, basketball, wrestling, fencing, baseball, track & field, tennis and golf. That list was trimmed and expanded through the years, then more than doubled with the addition of women's sports at Haverford in the 1980s. Eighteen sports are now counted toward the season-ending total.


The two schools compete for one point each in shared Centennial Conference-sponsored sports. Half-points are awarded for each competition in which the teams meet twice within a season (basketball, baseball and softball) and the cross country and indoor and outdoor track & field points are determined by the higher-placing finish at the conference meet. Tie scores in a contest result in each institution receiving a half point.

2023-24 Schedule and Results

Past Hood Trophy Results


Haverford College Athletics Logo Information

Logo History