Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Monaghan nets game-winner as No. 11 men’s lacrosse defeats Diplomats in triple overtime, 8-7

LANCASTER, Pa. – The No. 11 Haverford College men's lacrosse team fought through a driving rain storm, nearly two hours of delays due to lightning and a tough defense, but it was worth it in the end as it defeated host Franklin & Marshall, 8-7 in triple overtime, in a Centennial Conference contest Saturday night.

Myles Monaghan netted the game-winning goal, during an extra-man opportunity, with 2:23 left in the third extra session. The goal, that was assisted by Phillip Valliant, completed a hat-trick for Monaghan.

This is the first time that Haverford (9-3, 4-2 CC) went to triple overtime since March 31, 2007. On that day, the Fords fell to Washington College, 9-8, in four overtimes.

The win extends the Fords' winning streak over Franklin & Marshall (8-4, 3-3 CC) to six games. It is the third game in a row by a single goal.

Aside from Monaghan's three goals, Nick Schoen, Alexander Douglas, Zack Cohen, Travis Gregory and Valliant also scored for Haverford. Once again, Joe Banno was solid in goal by recording 18 saves, four coming in the overtimes.

For the Diplomats, Tristan Miller led the way with two goals. Colin McKew, Billy Kempner, Matt Gillan, A.J. Reichert and James Wenk added a goal each. Goalie Cameron Setian stopped 10 shots.

The two teams went to the fourth quarter tied all knotted up at six. The game remained tied until 5:40 was left when Gregory put the Fords ahead for the first time, 7-6, with an assist by Cohen. Less than two minutes later, Miller dead-locked the game at seven to send it to overtime.

The Fords found themselves in a 3-2 hole at the end of the first quarter. Monaghan and Villiant had the Haverford goals. In the second quarter, the two teams played to a 2-2 draw, which gave the Diplomats a 5-4 halftime advantage. Schoen and Cohen found the back of the net for the Fords.

Haverford travels to Collegeville to take on Ursinus College in a Centennial Conference match-up on Wednesday, April 20 at 7 p.m.