Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Old-timers race varsity at annual alumni meet

Eric Arnold (bib #64), Andrew Sturner (#97) and Peter Kissin (#77).
Eric Arnold (bib #64), Andrew Sturner (#97) and Peter Kissin (#77).

HAVERFORD, Pa. – Cross country alums were back on campus Saturday for Haverford College's annual Alumni Open with 2012 graduate Eric Arnold capturing the men's race for the 'old-timers.'

Arnold covered Alumni Course in a time of 14 minutes, 35 seconds to edge out sophomore runner-up Charlie Marquardt by six seconds.

Varsity runners Christopher Stadler, an All-American last fall as well as in both the indoor and outdoor track seasons, and Avi Bregman, an all-American steeplechaser for the Fords last spring, were next across the finish after Marquardt.

Joseph Carpenter '11 finished fifth and was later followed by a quartet of alumni in 10th through 13th place -- Anders Hulleberg '11 (the national cross country champion in 2010), Ben Siqueiros '12, Michael Riccio '13 and Peter Kissin '13, respectively.

Junior David Roza, sophomore Sam Fujimori, freshman Jimmy Gorman and senior Gebby Keny came in between Carpenter and Hulleberg to allow the varsity to capture the team scoring race by a count of 22-39.

Haverford's varsity season will kick off Thursday, Sept. 26 when the Fords host the Main Line Invitational at 5:30 p.m. on the same Alumni Course.