Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Cross Country Tunes Up with Alumni Open Race

Sam McCalpin
Sam McCalpin

HAVERFORD, Pa. - The 16th-ranked Haverford College men's cross country team competed in its first event of the season on Saturday afternoon, hosting the annual three-mile Alumni Open on the Alumni Cross Country Course under ideal weather conditions. 

In total, 55 entrants competed between the varsity team, alumni, as well as a handful of unattached entrants. 

For the second straight season, the overall title went to Greg Morgan '19 as Haverford's 2019 Varsity Cup winner reprised his 2018 title in his first season as alumni, crossing the finish line in 14:56. 

The first varsity finisher was first year Ryan Kredell, who finished in 15:06. Senior co-captain Sam McCalpin was third overall in 15:09, while Ryan Herlihy '19 (15:12) and sophomore Peter Buckley (15:17) rounded out the top five. Other finishers to best or match the 16-minute mark from the varsity squad included co-captain Hiro Kawakatsu (15:33), Aaron Bratt (15:34), Jack Hunter (15:37), Matt Katz (15:40), Conor Madden (15:41), co-captain James Barker (15:55), and Nathaniel Leighninger (16:00).

The full list of alumni finishers included Morgan, Herlihy, Eric Arnold '12, Henry Woods '18, Marcelo Jauregui-Volpe '18, Graham Peet '19, James Stadler '19, Ian Woodhouse '19, Brian Baillie '05, Matt Willig '18, Ben Siquieros '12, Tyler Fong '18, Chris Goings '19, Matt Cohen '12, Graham Barrett '15, Luke Henderson '08, Nick Vechick '10, Liam Bassett '18, and Paul Song '83. 

Haverford will begin its season against outside competition on Friday, September 20 at the Main Line Invitational. The men's race is slated to begin at 5:30 p.m. on the Alumni Cross Country Course.